Our Leadership


We believe that Jesus Christ is the Supreme Head of the church. (Colossians 1:18) We also believe that in His physical absence, godly men called "Elders" are to provide leadership for the local church. (Acts 14:23; 20:17; 28; 1 Timothy 3:1-7; 5:17-20; Titus 1:5; 1 Peter 5:1-3)

While Jesus Christ is the Great Shepherd (Hebrews 13:20), Elders are called to be His "under-shepherds." In a real sense they are called to be servant-leaders, just as the great servant-leader Jesus Christ.

At the present time we have 6 elders serving in this capacity:

  • James Cook
  • Phil Kliewer
  • Elroy Thieszen
  • Kevin Young
  • Zane Young
  • Paul Harder

Communication with the congregation is maintained through periodic congregational forums and meeting with the individual Small Groups. If you have concerns or questions, please contact one of these men. They would love to serve you!


According to the New Testament, as the needs of the Body grow, elders may delegate responsibility to men called "Deacons." These men assist elders in the work of caring for the needs of people and the church as a whole.

At Faith Community, the deacons do not function as a separate board. Rather, they individually assist the particular elder to whom they are responsible.

At the present time, there are 8 deacons serving in various roles:

  • Steve Lind
  • Phil Lorenz
  • Scott Moore
  • Miles Garwood
  • Rod Gartner
  • Rick Lorenz
  • Curt Sidak
  • Dennis Schueth

All of these men carry a big responsibility as they depend on the Lord to help them provide godly leadership for our church. Each of them are fully aware of their own weaknesses and limitations. Please pray for them as God places them on your mind.